jump to navigation

Pruning tomatos September 14, 2008

Posted by liajo in gardening mistakes.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I make a lot of gardening mistakes and NOT pruning is one of them.  I should have pruned the tomatos about six weeks ago, I just couldn’t make myself to it.  I know pruning is good for the fruit, but the object is to grow plants.  Pruning doesn’t seem to agree with that objective.

I did prune the tomatos this weekend.  It took a good couple of hours but I am pleased with the results.  Now there is better air circulation around and between the plants, and light can get down to the soil.  I know that I will see the results in more and bigger tomatos.

Maybe next time something needs to be pruned I’ll remember this.

Comments»

1. tim riherd - September 15, 2008

Pruning can put alot of stress on the tomato plant.Next year try letting just 16 main branches grow up and around your cage and then keep the suckers plucked off( when they are very small, no larger than one inch) and see whats happens.

2. liajo - September 15, 2008

Thanks for the advice. I know I should pay attention to the tomatos, so they’ll make more and better fruit.


Leave a Reply

