jump to navigation

Eye to the future October 1, 2008

Posted by liajo in general.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

No matter how successful the gardening year has been, I always start to think about “next year” as soon as the weather starts to cool down.  This year is no different. 

I plan on making big changes next year and really expanding the vegetable garden.  Mostly this is because I love to grow and eat vegetables.  But I’ll be honest with you, it is also a hedge bet against the future.  I’m beginning to wonder if anyone will be able to afford to buy vegetables next year.  I plan on not having to worry about it by growing my own.  I’ll take out about half of the front lawn and put in beds for herbs and salad greens.  I’ll be expanding the strawberry bed and building new beds in the backyard for zucchini and potatoes.  I can grow and preserve enough vegetables for my family and still have enough to share with several friends that don’t garden.  

It may be making things seem too simple, but this is my way of dealing with the present economic mess we seem to be in.  At least I know I’ll have vegetables to eat.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

