jump to navigation

Freeze in the forecast October 9, 2008

Posted by liajo in general.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

We have a freeze warning in the forecast and even a chance of snow.  With that in mind I just got done picking the last of the zucchini.  I didn’t want to take any chances.  I had eleven not so small zucchini.  That was kind of a surprise.  They certainly can do a good job of hiding in their foliage.  There are still a lot blooms on the plants.  We’ll just have to see if the freeze happens and if they make it through it. 

With all this zucchini I know what I’ll be doing this weekend.  I’ll make at least one loaf of bread and grade and freeze zucchini for a couple of more loaves.  I’ll also be using the dehydrator.  Drying food is my favorite way of preserving it. 

I knew that the outside gardening season was coming to an end and October 10th is at least average if not a little late in the season.  It just always comes as such a shock to realize that once again summer really is over.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

