jump to navigation

Gardening Mourning October 14, 2008

Posted by liajo in general.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Well it happened, we had a frost last night.  The zucchini is all wilted and sad looking.  So are most of the morning glory vines.  There are a couple of ones that have more protection that don’t look to bad.  Most of the leaves have fallen off the grapevines on the back fence.

I heard on the local weather forecast that A Basin, a local ski area, will be opening on Wednesday.  I bet all the skiers are jumping up and down in their ski boots. 

As a gardener all I can do is mourn.   Where did all my 80 and 90 degree days go?  Where are the days with 12 hours of sunshine?  Can it be six more months before I have beautiful blooms on the flowers and vegetables? 

Let the skiers rejoice, I’ll read my seed catalogs and dream of next summer.

Comments»

1. GWIZARD - October 14, 2008

We need another green house, babe! I think we should start another one soon. I cannot wait until spring time to cut up the sod in the front yard so you can start another garden their. That is less for me to MOWWWWWWWWWWWW!


Leave a Reply

