jump to navigation

Fall Color October 15, 2008

Posted by liajo in general.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

When most people talk about the fall color in Colorado they are referring to the changing leaves in the mountains.  Not me.  When I talk about fall color, it is the changing farm fields that get me excited.

Yesterday I took a different route home so I could enjoy some of the fields.  To truly appreciate them it helps to drive on a road that has rolling hills going through the fields.  The hills allow you to see more of the landscape.

What I saw on my drive was winter wheat just breaking through the soil.  It almost looks like grass, it has the same green color.  A harvested corn field lays bare the dark colored soil with the off white or tan color of the pieces of stalks left behind.  Freshly cut hay is a darker green than the new winter wheat.  And of course the pumpkin fields are orange with the vines turning dull green and brown.

Yes there are trees.  Almost all the farm houses are surrounded by them.  When you top the last hill about a half mile from the town I live in you will see lots of trees.  They are not in town, although we do have quit a few, but the ones I’m talking about are along the South Platte River.  The colors range from still summer green, to gold, yellow, red and brown.

Yes I really love the fall color of farm fields.

Comments»

1. Greg Cerveny - October 15, 2008

Hello fellow Coloradan!

I’ve never really thought of the fields changing color…


Leave a Reply

