jump to navigation

Turkey or Not Turkey November 22, 2008

Posted by liajo in comfort food, good things.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

It is no secret that I am not a fan of turkey.  I never have been.  I remember being in the forth grade and eating hot dogs for Thanksgiving because I didn’t like turkey.  I also don’t like pumpkin pie, sweet potatoes or that gross cranberry jelly glob. 

Before you start screaming that I am un-American I am not.  The pilgrims did not have any of things either, it all came along later.

This year however we are having turkey.  Not because my taste buds changed but because I bought a 16.5 pound turkey for a total of 38 cents (yes I got change from 2 quarters.)  So for that price I will eat some turkey, some turkey salad, turkey soup and green chili turkey enchiladas (the only real reason to cook turkey.)

We will also have my great grandmothers dressing, not stuffing, we never stuff a bird it is an excellent way to give everybody food poisoning.  We’re  having peach cobbler instead of pumpkin pie (no one in our family likes pumpkin pie.)  I found a really good recipefor mango cranberry sauce so we won’t be having the glob of cranberry jelly.  And we’re ditching the sweet potatoes altogether in favor of regular mashed.

So for the first time in many years there will be Thanksgiving at our house, just with a little twist.  I think the pilgrims would have liked it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

