jump to navigation

Winter Composting January 5, 2009

Posted by liajo in garden thoughts and ideas, How to tips.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I practice composting all year.  During the winter months I continue to collect kitchen waste for the compost pile.  And it doesn’t even get smelly.

I have a good sized galvanized pale that sits on the cabinet.  I keep it lined with several pages of newspaper.  It’s large enough to hold 5 to 7 days worth of waste for me and my husband. 

I always recommend a galvanized pale, it doesn’t hold odors the way plastic does and it’s way cheaper than a ceramic container.  Adding coffee grounds daily also helps to keep odors at bay.

If the weather is warm I may empty the pale on the regular compost pile.  If it’s really cold then I just dump it right on the vegetable beds, which are about 5 feet from my back door.  The garden is fenced so I don’t have to worry about the dogs digging around in the waste (Bubba would eat almost anything he found.)  And by spring, most of the waste has decayed right into the beds, so I’ve got nice rich soil when I’m ready to plant.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

