jump to navigation

Life after Death March 15, 2009

Posted by liajo in garden thoughts and ideas, good things, life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

In about 2 weeks the old tree will be gone, or most of it anyway.  But the old dear will continue to give and add to our lives after it’s own life is over.tree_photo1

It will kind of be like a tree organ donor program. 

The tree guys will cut some of it up and leave for us to use as fire wood in the fire pit.  So this summer when friends and family gather around to enjoy each others company, the old tree will be adding to the warmth of the evening.

The tree guys will mulch some of it.  I’ll keep a small amount and they’ll sale the rest locally.  So our old tree will be providing water conservation and weed control all over the area.

There is no way the stump can come out without damaging the foundation of our house and that of our neighbors, so it will stay.  We’re going to leave it about 3 feet high and make a table top on it.  I’ll use that as a potting area.

So in many ways the old dear will enjoy a full life after it’s death.  I kind of like that idea.

Comments»

1. Doraz - March 15, 2009

I like that!! The stump of trees are very useful! We do the same at our place! Great area to work with!! I wish more people would stop and think of all the uses in this world, they are ignoring!!!

2. starlaschat - March 28, 2009

Do you mind if I add your Blogg playing in the dirt to my blog roll?

3. liajo - March 29, 2009

No, I don’t mind at all, please add it to your blog roll, and thanks.

4. starlaschat - March 29, 2009

Oh Thanks liajo I look forward to learning more about Gardening. We can plant together.;+) Most of my fun playing in the dirt has been growing flowers but my focus this year is to grow food. I’ll go add you to the blog roll now Thanks.;+)


Leave a Reply

