jump to navigation

Don’t Til the Dirt April 4, 2009

Posted by liajo in garden thoughts and ideas, How to tips.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

This is a repeat of what was about my first blog.  But it’s worth saying again.  Please don’t til the dirt in the garden.2560784473_655051884e

Deep tilling of the garden does damage that won’t be repaired for years to come.  Remember there are millions of living things down there.  Things we can’t see, but that do so much good.  When you til the dirt you upset their homes and lives and sometimes even kill them. 

There is a much better way to plant.  I know because I’ve been doing it for several years now.  And it is so simple.  In a couple of weeks I’ll remove the winter cover from the garden beds.  In my case that’s leaves, other garden scrapes and newspaper.  Then I’ll dump on a couple of inches of my well aged compost on the beds.  I may use a hand spade to work in the new compost a little bit.  I’ll use an old tree branch to make my rows, sprinkle out the seed or place in seedling, cover lightly with dirt and I’m done.

It works great for new beds also.  Lightly break up the existing dirt, dump on lots of compost, at least several inches thick and plant.  I did this with a new strawberry bed last year and they grew like crazy.

If your interested in finding out all sorts or ways to have a garden without tilling the dirt, check out my favorite source, Mother Earth News at www.MotherEarthNews.com.

Comments»

1. starlaschat - April 4, 2009

Cool, I will go back and read some of your earlier post so I can catch up a bit. Thanks for the post on tilling.

2. starlaschat - April 6, 2009

Hows Gardening going I bet your busy.

3. Doraz - April 6, 2009

Starla, you got your going? Great tips here, huh?


Leave a Reply

