jump to navigation

Bubba’s Health Update March 3, 2009

Posted by liajo in Bubba & Allie.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

groupwinter06Updates on Bubba’s health and how he is doing with doggies diabetes as turned into a weekly feature.  I think that’s a good thing because the more I talk to people the more dogs and cats I am finding with diabetes.  Most of them are doing quit well.

I also have a close human friend with type 1 diabetes.  We are both amazed with how similar the disease is between dogs and people.  Talking with him as also helped me a lot and kept me from calling the vets office like every day.

He has insured me that the shots don’t hurt.  Yes that’s what the vet said but how does he know for sure.  He told me that yes it’s important to give the insulin at the same times every day, but if we’re off by 15 or 20 minutes it is highly unlikely that something horrible will happen.  Yes, I worried about a lot. 

He also told me that insulin is very oily.  One night Bubba moved a little while I was giving him his shot.  I knew that he got some insulin but I also felt some on the fur.  My human friend said that insulin is so oily that if he moves and just 1 mm get on his stomach it will smear all over it.

So two goods friends have diabetes and one is telling me what the other can’t.  I think that’s kind of cool.

Comments»

1. PUPPY LOVE AT IT’S BEST! « MAD MAN HATTER - March 8, 2009

[…] IS MY MALE BABY BUBBA HE HAS DIABETES. FOLLOW HE STORY  AND HEALTH REPORTS! MY WIFE UP-DATES HER BLOG EVERY MONDAY ON HIM CHECK IT […]

2. homesteadingmyway - March 12, 2009

How old is Bubba and how do you check his sugar? I was diagnosed with diabetes a year ago and had to take shots for about 6 months. I no longer have to take insulin shots; I control my diabetes with the right kind of diet. Does a special diet work for dogs?

3. liajo - March 14, 2009

Bubba and his sister Allie will be 9 years old in April. Right now the vet checks his sugar with blood tests. Dog diabetes is like type 1 in human, he will always be insulin, but he is on diet to help also.


Leave a comment